VANDER YACHT

Posted in illustration, Made It by cvydesign on June 11, 2010

Uff! So much World Cup business around my business this week. The whole agency is taking sides which is weird because I didn’t think we cared about that
kind of thing but apparently I am most wrong. I was asked to draw a few portraits of my coworkers for their upcoming World Cup Podcast, they’re British
so they know about these things. Didn’t have much time but I managed to get some quick sketches out with intentions of drawing a lot more. Turns out they
wanted the preliminaries. So I was done pretty fast I guess.

But not before they made me do this:

YIKES. The World Cup is an ugly ugly trophy. Then I drew some type and then they turned it into an adorable billboard!
I’m pretty stoked, it’s not everyday that I get to shove my drawings into the public’s eyes (IRL). If you want to see it in person, get thee to NW 21st and Burnside.

NW Burnside/21st

Burnside/21st Closer

photos by Denise Hanggi
If you like listening to British people talk about “lagers” and “football” then please, check out their podcast.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. chuck wiles said, on June 29, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    I especially like the guy on the left. His glasses fit his ears just right.

    • cvydesign said, on June 30, 2010 at 3:12 am

      Grandpa! I’ve been trying to find your address!

      • cvydesign said, on June 30, 2010 at 3:13 am

        Also, world, Grandpa Chuck taught me how to draw a face proper like. I still totally use his tips. Grandpa Chuck is a bad-ass.

  2. GRAMJO said, on June 30, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    Happy Birthday Cari. LOVE YOU !!!!!!!!! GRAMJO,and Bampa

    • cvydesign said, on June 30, 2010 at 10:05 pm

      THANKS GRANDPARENTS!

  3. chuck wiles said, on July 1, 2010 at 5:19 am

    As far as this grandparent is concerned, I look like Albert Einstein and think like Elmer Fudd. That’s where Cari derives her talent.

    Lucky lady, don’t you think.

  4. chuck wiles said, on July 1, 2010 at 5:23 am

    Hey … what’s with the July 1, 2010, at 5:19 am ??? I have never in my life been awake at 5:19 am. I’ve gotten home from a night out at 3 am and I always knew there was a 5:19 pm (happy hour), but I just found out last year, after being alive for 76 years, that there was a 5:19 in the morning.

    Geez

  5. chuck wiles said, on July 1, 2010 at 5:26 am

    Your clock is all messed up. Now it says 5:23 am … my clock says 10:23 pm on June 30 and the bars are still open. Like I said previously, there ain’t no such thing as 5:19 or 5:23 am.

    • cvydesign said, on July 1, 2010 at 4:42 pm

      This is pretty much the best thing to ever happen on this blog.


Leave a Reply

