VANDER YACHT

Posted in Made It, Ugly Face Wednesday by cvydesign on April 15, 2010

UFW 04.14.10

LAST ONE!

Just right now, as I’m typing this, I found a glob of frosting/glitter on my collar. Jesus.

SO! Final face! I hope ya’ll don’t mind the differing format, there was a lot to jam in there and I wanted it all. One year of ugly, nice!
I’d like to heap thanks on everyone that took any sort of time to check this series out. You’re all my favorite!

Here’s some aftermath shots:

This is where we ended up shooting the last few months of UFWs. The WKE space.

I finally got to make one of those Kentucky Derby winner’s rose thingys. I’ve been looking for a opertunity for a while now.

The cake was from Helen Bernhard’s Bakery, they’re great. Buy things from them. They totally let me get all nit-picky-art-director on the cake.

When I got the cake, they had accidentally written VFW but that’s cool, Vander Yacht Face Wednesdays.
My coworkers devoured it all the same.

UFW cakin'

Neevel got a face piece. DAYM, THANKS NEEVEL. Now I’m going to start a weekly series of David eating cakes with my face printed on them.

I feel like I should confess something to all of you now. Maybe some of you know that I work for an advertising company. Maybe it will come
as no surprise when I tell you this secret. Just to lift the curtain a little, this project has all been a viral campaign to raise awareness for this.

Photographer: David Neevel | Art Director: Cari Vander Yacht

Creative Commons License
Ugly Face Wednesday by Cari Vander Yacht
is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at www.flickr.com.

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thom said, on April 15, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    A GREAT year. Oh! the memories.

    I didn’t see this one coming but now Wednesday Withdrawal will be coming. Fo sho.
    (possibly only cured by the well known folk remedy- Nice Tush Tuesday.)

    THANKS, Cari,

    thom

  2. heather c said, on April 15, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    What a great ending! Good work Cari. I will miss Wednesdays – now they will just be boring days with nothing to look forward to. I think Thom maybe on to something for Tuesdays though…

    PS – it took a couple of weeks, but Jerry became a fan of UFW too! Now that is saying something!!! You turned a logic-based, tax crunching, contract making attorney into a UFW fan!!! There is hope for him yet!!

  3. Tristan said, on April 15, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    What a great run. Thanks for all the laughs, and for all the crazy looks I kept getting from people ease-dropping on my screen at coffee shops.

  4. cvydesign said, on April 15, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    Thom, you’ve always been a huge supporter, thank YOU.

    Heather, haa! I’m glad Jerry came around, my face is an acquired taste for some.

    Tristan, I hope you didn’t spit take hot coffee at your screen and then the people over your shoulder spit take when they ease-dropped you.

    Thanks all ya’ll!

  5. mht said, on April 16, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    a plus ugly work this year. and a damn fine ending cari.

  6. Lis/Fyr/Fiend/Whatnot said, on April 17, 2010 at 2:31 am

    Aaaah Cari, I have been enjoying your ugly face wednesdays so much. Crack me UP!!!!!!!! I love your illustration as well (: haven’t spoken to you in ages. Hope you are well!!! 😀

  7. john said, on April 17, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    In a way, it’s so sad to see UFW end on a high note. I’m not sure you’ve exhausted the possibilities of this format. Maybe you and Neevel should develop a different weekly project?

    On another subject: There is a thing on Google Documents now where you can collaborate on drawings…even real-time. Doesn’t that seem interesting? I’m trying to figure out how cool that is.

    Also: I got a great book in the mail, thanks!

  8. cvydesign said, on April 20, 2010 at 7:01 am

    Hey Lis! Been a long time! You’re making some pretty lovely things yourself now a days. Look at all the names I know you by!

    John, I saved you a piece of cake but then I ended up eating it. I think my new weekly project with Neevel will be “Take Neevel Out to Lunch To Repay Him For All the Time I Stole From Him Wednesdays.”

    What Google thing is that? They have too many applications now for me to keep track of, SketchUp?

    Thumbs up on book!!!

  9. Aaron Todd Alden Esq. said, on April 22, 2010 at 4:44 am

    Congrats on the grand finale! You are a true inspiration.

    • cvydesign said, on April 22, 2010 at 6:34 pm

      Aw, thanks Aaron!

  10. José Luis said, on April 24, 2010 at 1:16 am

    Hi there, I’ve been following you for like a year or so now and never missed any UFW, so sad it is over. Would you mind if I post this on my blog? A big hello from Mexico.

    • cvydesign said, on April 26, 2010 at 4:46 am

      Oh please do! Thanks for following my face!

      • José Luis said, on April 29, 2010 at 12:21 am

        Thanks Cari, this is the link http://bit.ly/aWDVRS of the entry on UFW if you wanna check it out, if you want me to change/add something please let me know, I’ll be glad to do so. Hoping to see more UFW real soon! A big hello from Mexico.


Leave a Reply

