VANDER YACHT

Posted in Events by cvydesign on December 14, 2009

 portrait

There’s been too many posts lately that have been just about my face. Lots of projects coming to fruition though so the diversity
will return soon enough. As it is, this post also contains my face.

Recently, I had the great pleasure of participating in Nationale‘s first anniversary portrait show. Above is my tiny drawing of Laurel McSpadden,
who I haven’t met but she seems lovely. It sold the other day, which is nice. There are a massive amount of pieces in the show, really great stuff.

Apparently, someone did a portrait of me too:

UFW_1

UFW_3

UFW_4

David had come up with the idea of making an Ugly Face Soundboard awhile back. I had recorded a bunch of awful sounds for it last month
but more or less had no idea what was going on with it. I figued it would be an online thing.

Its offline appearance at the show was a delightful shocker on my part.

Push the buttons and an ugly face whips across the screen, accompanied by some sort of noise I make. Sorry I didn’t take any video of it,
I expect it will be online relatively soon. You know, for the holidays.

Anyway, go to Nationale and you can use it yourself. While you’re there, you should also buy a big brick of french soap or tobacco perfume
or beautifully designed book or some other rare object May has gathered for selling.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. broken1design said, on December 16, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    I love this Ugly Face idea! You two should build out a web version of the sound board…. maybe even an iphone app or something ultra nerdy and raaaaad.

  2. cvydesign said, on December 17, 2009 at 12:57 am

    Yup, online was the first concept for the project. David just blew minds by shoving it into the 3D world. Boy-oi-oi-oing!

  3. Laurel said, on January 13, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    Hi Carrie,

    I love the portrait you painted of me for May’s show last month. I’m a bit sad that I didn’t buy it in time to give to my mom, but I’m happy it’s out in the world. Your paintings are fantastic! I’m so honored that you got me to paint. I love the ugly face! You’re one tallented lady.

    -Laurel McSpadden

    • cvydesign said, on January 15, 2010 at 2:22 am

      oh crap, I don’t know if I even have a scan of that. Let me check. Every mom should have a portrait! So glad you liked it, I get so worried when portraying others. Thank you for the kind words.

  4. Laurel said, on January 15, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    Oh, if you have a scan of it I would happily give you some greenbacks for it. Thanks for checking. No biggie if not. She will be able to see it online. I would like to get my hands on one of those ‘Things I shouldn’t Have touched’ books. Where can I buy one?

    -Laurel


Leave a Reply

