VANDER YACHT

My Park, MINE!

Posted in Internet Find, Video by cvydesign on April 18, 2008

Been on google way too much today.
In one of my many narcissistic searches I found this here:

Nooksack River along Vander Yacht Park

Behold, Vander Yacht Park! No shit!

Foot prints on the sandbar along Nooksack River at Vander Yacht Park

I haven’t been to this beautifully named oasis of calm and reverie but it’s only a
4 hour and 28 min drive away and it’s conveniently located just off of I-5! NICE.
I plan on making a pilgrimage some day.

Cormorant as seen at Vander Yacht Park
BIRDS!

And if the photos weren’t enough to tide you over for this stunning piece of outdoors, feast your eyeballs on this(!!!):

Best five minutes of my day. Following around squirrels and common song
birds is what I typically do outside, so this video really speaks to me.
And those transitions!! YOW! The heart-shaped one really gets me.

And it gets better!

Ready?

There are TWO Vander Yacht Parks! I know, it’s hard to believe. And they’re both in Washington, the land my ancestors apparently decided was the place to procreate. It’s a sad park so I won’t make fun.

TWO PARKS! YES!!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. shit-von said, on April 19, 2008 at 2:42 am

    josh van der yacht kind of looks like natalie portman.

  2. cvydesign said, on April 21, 2008 at 3:09 am

    …I see it!

  3. Josh's mom said, on October 26, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    I’m not a Vander Yacht now, but I was when I gave birth to Josh, for whom the second park in your blog is named. You should really try to visit it, too, if you ever make that long drive to the other Vander Yacht park. It’s in the foothills of Mt. Baker on Highway 9 in Van Zandt.

    The park was named for Josh because his dad had a great deal to do with building it.
    Josh died while working for him in his construction company. Building the park was his grief work.

    Natalie Portman?
    Really?
    Guess that would be a compliment?

    It was the 10 year anniversary of Joshua’s death yesterday 10/25/2009. I did a google search on his name today and it led me here. Just had to comment.

    • cvydesign said, on October 28, 2009 at 3:12 am

      It’s good to hear from you, I most certainly should go see this park.


Leave a Reply

