VANDER YACHT

Microfilm (Ahem…Microfiche)

Posted in Design by cvydesign on April 16, 2008

Microfilm Box

Erik and I were wandering around Scrap awhile back when he spotted
a huge stack of these orange boxes here. By themselves they’re awesome
looking, I love the double m’s in the top right.

Microfilm Box

Inside was a very long roll of microfilm, the one I got happened to
have a bunch of ladies advertisements on them. I haven’t made it all
the way through the roll, so I don’t know if there’s more in store.

Microfilm

Microfilm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hc said, on April 16, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    these are wonderful…and to date myself – I actually used microfilm in research projects in college. Yes – back in the day where the internet was new and we were lucky to search on Netscape using dial up.
    Yeah for Microfilm!! Great find!

  2. cvydesign said, on April 16, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    OOOOLD.

    I used microfilm once. I think. It confused me.

  3. Julie said, on April 16, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Coooool!

  4. shit-von said, on April 17, 2008 at 12:09 am

    microfiche…

    and you had to sign up and wait an hour + to surf on the only mac or pc for the whole university that was hooked up to a modem.

    And how you had to check out the microfiche and sit there and scroll through miles and miles of film just to find a paragraph that you needed for your doublespaced wordprocessed paper with no spellcheck.

    dang. oldie.

  5. cvydesign said, on April 17, 2008 at 3:31 am

    My find seems to have unearthed a bucket full of bad memories.

    I apologize.

  6. hc said, on April 17, 2008 at 4:31 am

    I keep coming back to this post – and staring. I love it. And I THOUGHT it was called Microfiche, but then I thought my old brain was losing it and I didn’t want to type the wrong thing and look stupid.
    🙂

  7. danny said, on April 24, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    the microfilm room was my favorite place in the college library… and you could make laser prints for free!

    hey cari – think there are any more of those still at scrap?

    also – to settle the debate – microfilm comes in rolls, microfiche is on sheets.

  8. cvydesign said, on April 28, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    Thank you Danny for settling that such and such. I’m not sure if they have it there still, it’s worth a shot. Be warned, we got it there quite a few months ago.

  9. 50s Pam said, on June 27, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    So cool.


Leave a Reply

